Naturally Healthy 4 Life's Blog

A blog about health, nutrition, fitness and wellness

Dealing with the Devil – Medications that Help

images pills

I feel fantastic – a stark contrast from my last post on this.   I will not continue to go on and on about how terrible this disease is – blah, blah, blah. There will be no more whining. It is now time to turn this into something positive.

The reason I AM feeling so fantastic is that I am on a high dose of Prednisone, with a slow taper schedule. (More on Prednisone below.)

When the hives are what I call “standard hives” – itchy, spotty welts and wheals, I found a combination of Zirtec (cetirizine) and Zantac (Ranitidine) helped keep them under control.

Zirtec is s a second-generation antihistamine used in the treatment of hay fever, allergies, angioedema and urticaria. It is a major metabolite of hydroxyzine, and a racemic selective H1 receptor antagonist.

Zantac is a histamine H2-receptor antagonist that inhibits stomach acid production. However, it is also used alongside antihistamines for the treatment of skin conditions such as hives.

However, when I have giant hives that literally cover my body with ¼ inch thick welts, urticaria in my face and mouth, and restricted breathing, the Zirtec/Zantac combo does nothing. The only thing thus far that has helped control the severe immune response is Prednisone.

Prednisone is corticosteroid. It prevents the release of substances in the body that cause inflammation. It also suppresses the immune system, which is why it has been prescribed to me.

However…Prednisone has significant adverse effects, especially with prolonged treatment, including cataracts, bone loss, weakening of the immune system, and many others. One of the most serious complications from prednisone is the risk of osteoporosis, which occurs from the bone loss.

The bottom line is that Prednisone will cover up the disease, but the underlying dysfunction (the cause of the disease) must be repaired.

I am off to the immunologist tomorrow, hopeful that they will have another solution for me.

Angela

References:

  1. http://www.drugs.com/prednisone.html
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ranitidine
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cetirizine
  4. http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2003/11/05/prednisone-dangers.aspx

October 29, 2015 Posted by | Health | , , , , | Leave a comment

   

