Naturally Healthy 4 Life's Blog

A blog about health, nutrition, fitness and wellness

One step forward and a half step back…

Red wine

As I have posted in the last few weeks, I have been so excited with the possibility that I may be going back into remission – or at least that the handfuls of meds I take every day are working. I felt incredible.

Unfortunately, I am now experiencing another flare up. When I saw the first hives pop up on Friday morning, I thought it might have been the VERY small glass of red wine I consumed on Thanksgiving Day (sulfates – an immune system under duress does not like them). But the symptoms have increased every day and I am now wheezing with giant hives (fortunately, no angioedema). I really do not know what has triggered it this time.

So I am back on a Prednisone taper and will be trying another treatment called “Xolair.” Xolair was developed to treat asthma, but has also proven to be a good treatment for chronic idiopathic urticaria that is not responding to H1 antihistamine treatments.

I will go to the immunology clinic once a month to get an injection of Xolair. My only fear (and there is a real possibility that it could happen) is that I will have a reaction to the Xolair. So after the injection, they will monitor me for an hour or so to make sure I do not have a severe reaction (anaphylaxis).

If someone out there that has had Xolair injections stumbles on this blog, I would love to hear from you.

Angela

December 2, 2015 - Posted by | Health, Uncategorized | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Angela

    Hello, I am a mother of a ten year old sever asthmatic. Recently we did a 2 night 3 day get away at to the local hospital arriving in style in an ambulance, sadly this is not the first time her asthma has gotten this frightening. Today her immunologist stated that we have exhausted all other medications, as she is 10 and is on adult doses of daily maintenance meds and is not working, and she mentioned xolair. I was wondering if you did try the xolair injections and if so was there any negative effects or reactions that you could warn me about? My daughter has struggled her whole life to the means of being taken out of school for months at a time every year to avoid flu season. I would appreciate any advice you have concerning this issue.

    Thanks Beth

    Comment by Bethany Holman | October 21, 2016 | Reply

    • Thank you for your note, Beth. The insurance wouldn’t approve xolair (very expensive) until I tried hydroxizine – which worked (for my condition)! I did read a lot of comments from xolair patients – but only those comments related to treatment for chronic ideopathic urticaria (one of my autoimmune conditions). For CIU, most patients experienced immediate relief, but after 6 mos. to a year, it became less effective. Do more research re the treatment for asthma – and don’t hesitate to question your doctors and what they really know about it. That’s the best I can do for you – wish I could be more helpful. Good luck to you.

      Comment by angelalauder | October 21, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

