Naturally Healthy 4 Life's Blog

A blog about health, nutrition, fitness and wellness

No news is good news

stability

It has been a while since my last post, as I was enjoying the holidays, during which my symptoms remained quite stable. I had a few flare-ups after going off the Prednisone, but no angioedema or severe urticaria. I credit the stability to the changes I made to my diet, the immune boosting vitamins and minerals I take, time off of work (with no plans to do anything but rest and relax!) and increased yoga and meditation.

During this time, I did some additional research on Xolair. I found some discussion boards online that had mostly good feedback, but some bad feedback, as well. There were a lot of people that found immediate relief (from the chronic urticaria), but after several months of shots, the urticaria eventually returned. I am becoming skeptical that this is the cure for me.

Then a week ago, my insurance provider made a decision on the Xolair. They will not cover it. This is a big deal because it is a VERY expensive shot. Their reasoning is because I have not yet tried Hydroxyzine. When I asked my immunologist why they have not yet prescribed this drug, they responded that “it’s just another H1 antihistamine” so they did not understand how this was a reason for insurance to deny coverage.

SO…

I suggested the obvious – that he prescribe Hydroxyzine anyway. If there is no change, then we can tell my insurer that we have tried it and it was not enough. OR…maybe it will work?

I started Hydroxyzine five days ago in place of the Cetrizine. I take it at bedtime and it knocks me out cold (it is very sedating for me). I still have hives, but they are small and in clusters now – they almost look like chicken pox.  The Hydroxyzine is doing something.

I am hopeful that the stability over the holidays is a sign that I am healing and going back into remission.

The doctors have so far only treated the symptoms – they have done what they could to make me feel better right now, without knowing the source of the problem or how to fix it.

In my next post, I will talk about the lifestyle and dietary changes that I made over the last few months, which I believe have helped.

I intend to start healing my body from the inside out.

Angela

January 12, 2016 - Posted by | Health, Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

